Monday, 29 July 2013

Passy Mermans - Les Grands Succes Africains Vol. 6

Alphonse Mpassy, or Passy Mermans as he became known, was one of the lightning fingered guitarists from Brazzaville's legendary rumba rollers, Orchestre Bantous and this is a wonderful collection of songs he wrote.
This music just makes me very happy and I think you probably need it in your life.

On the downside, the first song jumps a couple of times at the beginning, but after that its all good.


01 Badetty (Orchestre Bantous)
02 C'est Serieux Tantine (Orchestre Bantous)
03 Bubote Mona Pele (Orchestre Bantous)
04 A Mon A Vis (Orchestre Bantous)
05 Ata Ko Poso Moko (Orchestre Les Nzoy)
06 Mazekimba (Orchestre Les Nzoy)
07 Masolo (Orchestre Lisolo)
08 Owelaki Mingi (Orchestre Lisolo)
09 ATC Voie Ferree (Orchestre Bantous)

Get it HERE.

Monday, 22 July 2013

Scientist - Crucial Cuts Vol. 2 (1986)

Scientist is a true innovator in the world of dub reggae.  He was and electric wizard, a protégé of King Tubby, and a fearless vampire killer.  Pour yourself a rum, sit back and check out these crucial cuts.


01         13 Bread Lane Dub         
02         11 Guava Road Dub         
03         Ethiopian High Priest         
04         The President         
05         Forgive Them Oh Jah         
06         Everlasting Version         
07         Knock Out Version         
08         King Sturgav         
09         People's Choice, The Lion        
10         Dub The Daughter

Get it HERE.

Sunday, 14 July 2013

Lhoucine Amarrakchi - Berber Music from the Souss Valleys

This cassette is another of the wonderful treasures provided by Joachim.  It's Berber music complete with banjos, rabab and hectic percussion.  Its a high energy affair and I hope you enjoy it.

On the end of each side we are lucky enough to find an incredibly strange instrumental track with rabab and banjo playing over synthesised backing.  Each of these tracks cut short leaving me hanging out for more - if anyone knows where to get the complete tracks I'd love to hear from you.


Side One
Side Two

Get it HERE.

Finally, any translations, or info about this artist would be much appreciated.

Sunday, 7 July 2013

Maria Bethania - A Arte Maior de Maria Bethania

Maria Bethania is one of Brazil's best loved singers.  She is the sister of Caetano Veloso and one of the leading lights of the Tropicalia movement.

What we have here is the first record of a two disc compilation of songs recorded between 1978 and 1982, and these tracks are smooth and slick; they ooze like syrup out of the speakers, sultry, torrid and redolent of romance and hot nights.

Might be your bag, or it might not:


01         Explode Coração        
02         Negue        
03         Alguém Me Avisou        
04         Maravida        
05         De Todas As Maneiras        
06         Mel        
07         Começaria Tudo Outra Vez        
08         Olhos Nos Olhos        
09         Grito De Alerta        
10         Ronda        
11         Talismã        
12         O Lado Quente Do Ser        
13         Mentira De Amor        
14         Da Cor Brasileira

Get it HERE.

Thursday, 4 July 2013

Ruts D.C. - Present Rhythm Collision Volume 1

The Ruts were a very popular UK punk band famous for catchy tunes such as Staring at the Rude Boys:

or Babylon's Burning:

The group's lead singer, Malcolm Owen, died of an overdose in 1980, but the remaining members changed the group's name to Ruts DC and fell further into the reggae that had always deeply influenced the Ruts' sound.  Rhythm Collision Vol. 1 was their first collaboration with Peckham dub master, the Mad Professor, and it is an astonishing album of cuts  blend dub and funk whilst also managing to maintain a punk sensibility.

I was very excited when I found this one at my local boot sale a couple of weeks ago, and I hope you will share in a bit of that excitement.

Check out Push Yourself - Make it Work:


01         Whatever We Do (Inst.)        
02         Militant        
03         Push Yourself - Make It Work        
04         Rhythm Collision        
05         Accusation        
06         Pleasures Of The Dance        
07         Weak Heart Dub        
08         Love & Fire

Get it HERE.